I’d like to thank the academy…

10 Mar

I am stunned.  This morning I was wrestling a willful toddler, roasting a turkey, trying to remember a cookie recipe, rethinking the layout of my kitchen herb garden and wondering how I was going to get to get everything done (including dishes, laundry, weeding, planting, mowing, seeding, interviewing a potential employee, checking myself into an institution, etc.) when I decided to scrap it all for 10 minutes, have another cup of coffee and check email.  I have been given an award!

There is another North Carolina blogger who I’ve been following, Year of Healthier Living, and she has bestowed upon me the Versatile Blogger Award.  Every time I open my email and see that she has  a new post, I am totally in awe.  She is a mom, has a career and is working to make a safer, healthier life for her family (including what sounds like one rogue kitten), and she shares it all with humor and grace.  Thank you thank you for the award and the inspiration!

As part of the award requirements I must share 7 things about myself and share this award with seven other bloggers.  I am very happy to do this.

1.  Beets are my favorite vegetable.   I like them because they taste like dirt.

2.  I have self published three comic books.

3.  I have always loved to cook, but my first real formal training in food was all on the open hearth.

4.  I love being on boats, but I am terrified of water.

5.  I have a huge crush on Huey Lewis.

6.  I secretly want to just sit around and eat all day and get really fat.

7.  I have an 11 year old pugrador named Tuck.  Yep, that’s lab and pug.  Don’t make the mistake of asking how that’s possible like I did.  The vet gave a much more detailed answer to my rhetorical question than I was expecting.

And now that you all know me so well, here are some of the versatile bloggers that I would like to honor.

1.  Fabulously Fun Food  I have known Melanie for about 5 years now and have not known her to back away from many challenges.  She is a creative and daring cook, always looking for something tasty and new to try, and has done it all while moving constantly, learning new languages and feeding her picky eater, black hole physicist husband.  Go Melanie!  Anyone who can cook from the Southern Living annual with strange German ingredients is golden in my book.

2.  Desert Candy  This blog helps feed my need to travel, without my having to drop the cookies or get off the couch.  And there are also some really great recipes here, like the grapefruit marmalade, shakshouka, and homemade hamburger buns.  Check her out.

3.  Boxcar Grocer  This is a small local foods grocery run by an African American family, focused on food justice.  I wish I were in Atlanta and could support this business.

4.  Yellow Tree Farm  These crazy kids run an organic farm on 1/10 of an acre in St. Louis.  They are smart, funny, well informed and a great source of information and inspiration.  They also recently finished a successful kickstarter campaign to expand their heritage chicken facilities.

5.  The Happy Hippy  Vonnie scrapped a hectic life in British finance to move to a tropical paradise and garden organically.  Way to swing 180!  Go have a look at her beautiful new life.

6. Soulsby Farm  Making a transition from Disney Animation Studios to small farming in Ohio and working with a hunger relief non-profit requires great versatility and adaptation.  They are doing great things with food and food education in the Midwest.

7. While Chasing Kids  This Russian mom blogs about the hurdles and happiness of being a stay at home mom of two, the difficulties of staying tied to her culture, and finding time to read great literature.  She also has some great recipes and beautiful food photography.

Congrats to all of you and thanks for sharing!

And now one more shameless plug for my Kickstarter project.  With the possibility of some new traffic on the blog, I just wanted to direct everyone to the HoneyBea got Heart Community CSA project on Kickstarter.  I only have 60 hours left to raise funds for full steam ahead farm building.  If I don’t reach my goal, no money changes hands.  There are some tasty rewards at stake here!

3 Responses to “I’d like to thank the academy…”

  1. Year Of Healthier Living March 10, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    Thank YOU! And I had no idea we shared outdoor cooking and self-publishing!

  2. Yvonne March 10, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    Awwww Honey Bea – thank you so very much for the shout out – I am truly touched. I saw your post on FB and came across to say “I read your blog and love it” only to find that I have been mentioned in despatches. How lovely you are : )))

  3. Anastasia March 10, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Thanks so much for the nomination! I’m honored!
    P.S. Checking into an institution actually sounds like a spa vacation to me… Great idea! :-P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

